The Czech Republic: Facts & Essentials

Since time immemorial, the Czech lands have been the crossroads of European cultures. The cultural character of Czech cities, villages, and spa towns has always been a source of inspiration to visitors and guests who come here from all corners of the world. The Czech Republic, among the youngest in the family of European countries, was born on January 1st, 1993, when the Czechoslovak Federal Republic split into two independent states, the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Since May 2004, the Czech Republic has been a member of the European Union; it has been a full-fledged NATO member since 2002. (The country has not adopted the Euro yet and still uses its national currency, the Czech crown.)

Even though the Czech Republic’s area of 78,864 square kilometers (about 30,450 square miles) ranks it among small countries, its wealth of natural beauty and cultural heritage monuments contribute significantly to its global prestige as a significant cultural destination.

Geographically, the country and its historical lands (Bohemia, Moravia, and Silesia) are divided into 14 local administrative units controlled by regional administrations. Its population is 10.3 mil.

In addition to the administrative units, there are 14 tourist regions dotted with charming towns, castles, and chateaux (the most per square mile of any country in the world!), ancient villages, and, of course, many spas, all waiting to be discovered.

Source: Official website of the Czech Republic,

Basic Facts

Did You Know?

What Do We Share With Other Nations

Chronological History in Dates


Famous Czechs

map-czech-republic.jpg prague.jpeg

WITH YOU SINCE 1993 +420 773 103 102